Things have been very busy at work lately. I’m starting to get in the swing of things since I signed my official employee contract. I thoroughly enjoy knowing what I’m doing when I’m there (I hate being the new girl) and I’ve been adjusting to having more friends.

Just the other day one of my coworkers was eating something…it smelled.so.good. I passed her along the way of walking into another office but I quickly came back to inquire about the tasty smell. “Dude, that smells SO GOOD! What IS that?!” She simply smiled and stated, “It’s leftover lasagna, I made it in the crockpot.” Uummm…genius! Recipenowthankyouverymuch!

The time was right before I normally go on my lunch hour so the thought crossed my mind to go home and make it right then and there, but I was missing something important: the lasagna noodles. Bummer.

So I patiently waited for the weekend to come along when I would purchase my precious noodles (with a coupon of course!) and whip up this delightful dish. My plan was to make it Monday so I could come home after work to the smell of Italian food wafting through the front door, but Monday was a rough day. I suffered 14, yes fourteen bug bites after watching fireworks for the holiday and in my sleep I scratched so much- I woke up in a panic several times throughout the night. Anyway I was tired, cranky, and barely made it home to eat a grilled cheese. There was no way I had the energy to do anything on Monday.

But then there was today. I got a better night sleep, and my ingredients were all set out or set up in the fridge. I was ready.

I have to remind myself sometimes its a little tricky to try new recipes when I only have an hour to get home, make the meal, and be back again to work in an hour, but this was so simple I had plenty of time to eat lunch too.

I would have done step by step pictures, but ain’t nobody got time fo dat! At least I didn’t in my haste.

Crockpot Lasagna adapted from here

1/2 spicy italian turkey sausage

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 1/2 minced garlic

1 jar Barilla roasted garlic sauce (I am going to add another 1/2 jar or so next time!)

1/2 cup water

1 15oz container part skim ricotta cheese

2 cups mozzarella cheese (I’m glad I didn’t skimp on cheese, it was the perfect amount)

4 tablespoons parmesan cheese

1 egg

2 teaspoons dried parsley

9 uncooked lasagna noodles

Makes: About 6 servings

Step One: Brown the sausage and onion together until the onion is translucent and the meat is fully cooked through

Step Two: Meanwhile mix together the ricotta, egg, parsley, and 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese

Step Three: To meat mixture, add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add garlic pasta sauce and water. Bring to boil, reduce to simmer for 5 minutes

Step Four: Place one cup of meat sauce in the bottom of a crockpot, top with 3 lasagna noodles, top with 1/3 of ricotta mixture (I had to break 2 of the noodles in thirds to fit them all in a layer), repeat twice, and cover the top with the rest of the sauce

Step Five: Cook on low 4 1/2 hours, top with the rest of the cheese and let sit 10 minutes (The directions on the original website said not to try putting it on high to cook faster. I didn’t have a need to anyway, but you’re warned!)

I served our lasagna with a green salad and garlic bread (Just cut up some french bread, slather butter and garlic salt and broil for like a minute or until it’s golden brown)

IMG_4119

This was before plating

IMG_4121

And dinner was served!

Overall I would say use more sauce than the original recipe calls for because I’m a saucy kind of gal (heh). Hubby said this was a grand slam kind of meal. :Blush: I can’t see where this one would get messed up anyway, lots of cheese! So yay, any crockpot recipes you love?

