We have a some friends that are really cool. What I mean by that is they always know what to do on the weekend to have fun. Whether it’s having a grilled cheeseburger and a bon fire at their house, rafting down the river, or playing trivia and then cosmic bowling, they know where it’s at. I was really excited because they invited us to the Greek Festival and we had such a good time!

I had never been to anything like it before!

There was Greek dancing

Greek Beer

IMG_3880

Friends (They were teaching how to do the Greek dancing… I was the only one that caught on, but we still had fun!)

IMG_3893

I always forget how tall T and I are…I guess we don’t notice very often!

IMG_3905

and Greek Food!

This picture does not do it justice, but it’s called Pastitsio. It’s a Greek lasagna type food and we scarfed it down! Wow! It was really cool eating something new because I tend to be a bit of a picky eater when it comes to new to me foods, but I was so hungry I didn’t get to turn my nose up. So glad I tried it! I want more- now! After the food, dancing, and shots, we took a tour of the church that hosted the festival next door.

After an HOUR of sitting and listening to the sermon/lecture, they actually let us look around and see the place. Such rich tradition and beautiful additions. It wasn’t a place to take pictures, but it was the first church I’ve been to with statues that don’t scare the crap out of me. To this day I can’t go into Catholic churches, sad I know. I am a Christian. But Christian religious statues are creepy to me. They explained the reasoning, it was really beautiful how they described them as tributes to important people, so maybe I need more explanation next time? Before you write me off as a terrible person, I swear I don’t think anything less of other religious sects of the church, I just had a really bad experience as a kid and I’d rather not relive that!

After the tour, it was time to head home and to bed. So glad to have friends that are so cool and fun, because we’re boring old married people you know? 🙂

IMG_3902

 

