I can’t believe how things have changed, even in the last year. I really hope to blog more, we’ll see how that goes. In the meantime here’s the story of our anniversary trip!

IMG_3929

 

 

We woke up on Friday morning after another lovely evening of watching Star Trek, the original series from the 60’s. Live long and prosper 🙂 Anyway, I made  some cinnamon rolls and told The Hubster to eat a banana if he got hungry later. He had the day off so he dropped me off at work, sigh. I should have taken the day off too but I’m not an official employee yet.

Oh did I not mention I got a new job? Yeah, I’m really excited about it. I’m now an accountant which I’ve never been before. I like my job and I like the people, so far so good!

After he dropped me off it was really hard not to think about going away. This is the first time we’ve ever taken a trip, just the two of us without having to visit family since our honeymoon. I sat at my desk all morning looking at the clock over and over, and then telling myself if I look at the clock one more time I’m in trouble. And then I looked it one more time…

He picked me up and we stopped at steak and shake for lunch, pretty much the opposite of healthy but our Heath Shake was so so good.

Screen Shot 2013-06-17 at 11.40.44 PM

After lunch I was back to work watching the clock (trust me, I’m normally not like that because I really do love my job, but the trip! Oh the trip! was on my mind) and I could hardly breathe as I raced out to the parking lot and into the car so we could jet off. I had packed the night before but I wanted to say a quick goodbye to the kitties and make sure everything was in place.

IMG_3928

 

And then we were off!

The plan was to drive the Grand Haven, which is on the west side of Michigan. The day was gorgeous and we were plenty excited to leave town. Nowadays we’ve been talking more seriously about our future. Where we’re going to live once he finishes grad school, when to have kids, and car trips are just one of those things that allow us to open up more. I know most wives say nice things about their hubbies and they must be great, but I’ve got a good one. I really do.

This is the boardwalk in Grand Haven, I didn’t take a picture but this is what it looks like.

We checked into our hotel and decided to get pizza. We researched places to eat before we went and heard this place called Fricano’s was good. In fact it was voted best pizza here and best pizza there, and people were going on and on. I guess we’re just California pizza snobs because we weren’t that impressed. In fact, I found it greasy and I got heartburn after. The good thing about this place is that it’s old fashioned. They take cash or check only and the only thing on the menu is pizza. And pizza. And…pizza. Our waitress was such a sweetheart. I asked her to take a picture of us, she had no idea how to use my phone 🙂

That’s her finger, not bad for her first time! 🙂

IMG_3940

I tried to recreate a picture taken on our honeymoon, but Taylor didn’t have the same shirt. We were pretty close though! Take a look:

Screen Shot 2013-06-14 at 10.54.37 PM

Do we look any different?

We hung out, drove around the city a bit and stopped by the lake. There were campgrounds that we had our eye on for next time! It was so nice and relaxing. When we got back to our less than awesome hotel, Problem Child 2 was on. I remember watching that movie as a kid and boy is that movie NOT for kids! Hilarious though. We got up early the next day to visit Morning Star Cafe. We loved it so much we actually went back the next day!

IMG_3971 IMG_3975

After a fun day of walking on the boardwalk and bowling ($5 special!) we headed out for a nice dinner at a Japanese steak restaurant. We thought Taylor’s plate of sushi was so pretty, it needed a picture. We love sushi! I got the shrimp pad thai- so good!

IMG_3964

IMG_3961

This man has now been in my life for over a decade. I can’t imagine what life would be like without him. We had the most wonderful trip, and I can’t wait for the rest of our lives.

Now let’s get back to reality!

 

 

