Before I got married I had this built image in my head of what Saturday mornings would be. I thought of myself serving breakfast in bed to Taylor with a cute little apron on tied with a bow, the smell of fresh waffles wafting through the air as I wake him up with a good morning kiss, and the look on his face that I am the greatest wife on Earth.

Somewhere along the road I missed the train to domestic divaness, but I’m working my way there. Taylor decided to take the day off today and being super excited about that fact, I wanted to make it worthwhile! I got up out of bed, sprinted to the kitchen and got to work on breakfast! Apparently I was so discreet, the noise from the kitchen made him think the cats were getting into something. Nope, that’s just your crazy in love with you wife whipping up pancakes like June Clever in training!

We all know what kind of pancakes are put out by Denny’s, diners, and dads. Mostly white flour, lots of sugar, and really good. I have to praise them for what they do, however my waistline cannot so I improvise the best I can. I made instead Blueberry Almond Pancakes.

This recipe starts with flour, I used half whole wheat and half regular. I think all whole wheat is too much, but it’s not terrible. Then sugar, salt, and lots of baking powder. Are you a fan of pancake mix or making them from scratch? I can go for both, but I think homemade is better.

Then melted butter and an egg are added. Want to know my top secret diet ingredient that I add to most recipes I make over and over? The one thing I swear by in my banana bread and pancakes?

Smart Balance! This stuff is the best, really. It makes everything so moist! I also tried PureAlmond Almond Milk. I was curious to see how it would taste, because normally I use regular cow’s milk. That thought is funny to me…

Mix it all up! One tip I learned from Alton Brown years ago is to never over mix batter! Those lumps are there for a reason- mmm!

I used Michigan blueberries- so cute aren’t they?

As I started to pour about 1/4 cup of batter topping it with blueberries, I looked back on my days of early marriage pancake making. Fun fact: I was terrible. I was so afraid of burning them that I wouldn’t let them cook. Needless to say Taylor was very forgiving as he chocked down pale pancakes for quite some time. After making the subtle suggestion of letting them cook, just a little longer, I learned the error of my ways.

I’m happy to say I’ve improved! So much! We finished up the last of my hippie strawberries that were bursting with sweetness, topped our pancakes with HFCS free syrup, and dug in!

It was love at first bite. I asked him what he thought first, just to make sure I wasn’t biased. He loved them! Oh yeah! They were fluffy, they were sweet, they were the perfect amount of blueberry I love in my pancakes- just enough!

And my top secret diet ingredients? No one will ever know the difference!

Recipe:

Adapted from Big Oven found here

Makes: 10 pancakes for me

1 cup flour (half whole wheat)

1/4 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg

3 tbsp melted butter (or Smart Balance)

1 cup milk (PureAlmond)

about a 1/2 pint of blueberries

Directions:

Mix all dry ingredients

Add in wet ingredients, one at a time

Mix, but don’t overdo it

If using a griddle, I find 325- 350 degrees is perfect for pancakes

Using about 1/4 cup of batter, pour into hot oil sprayed skillet

Drop as many blueberries on top as you like

Wait til they’re brown on the bottom, then flip

Enjoy!

With lots of love,

{She-Hulk}

