What a day! I’ve got myself super comfortable on the couch, pretty sore from everything that went on. But it’s a great day to be alive right?

I bought some beautiful organic (hippie as we call it) strawberries at the store and was dying to make a smoothie. This morning when I woke up, I practically jumped out of bed knowing I had everything to make them. I even used unsweetened almond milk, a first for me! I probably won’t use two bananas next time, 1-1.5 is perfect for Taylor and me. There are some days when you just have more energy, and I took it as a blessing today because I needed it! I went to the chiropractor, hit up the gym, went to the library and bank, met my friend for lunch, did 5 loads of laundry, cleaned, and organized!

The gym was so much better than I thought it would be. After several weeks of getting adjusted, working my abs, ice, being sore, using a body pillow, hurting, massage, and doing it all over again, I was finally feeling like myself again. I was also able to complete my intervals on the treadmill. I even ran at 7.0, which is a big breakthrough for me. By the time I got to the library I was a hot mess complete with sweat and a red face. Oops, sometimes I forget how gross I am after I run. Ew, but worth it.

The Hulkster and I have been focusing more about working hard to get organized as much as possible. Just this year we made a goal of getting rid of clutter, and living a more simple life. It has helped us so much to know where things are, keeping us from being greedy, and giving us more mental clarity. We’ve given away so much to charity and it’s felt good knowing somewhere someone is benefiting from the clothes, shoes, kitchen supplies, electronics, toiletries, etc. we’ve donated. As I was organizing today, I kept thinking of more items I could give away and stopped myself. But then I considered it again, and I’m glad I did.

You see, I was in denial. I was still in “fat Amanda” mode. I was thinking I was bigger than I actually was. And I needed to stop. Other people out there may need the clothes I’m keeping- and I wasn’t letting myself give them away simply because I won’t let myself be the size I am. I put on a pair of capris I haven’t worn in years and let it sink in. I’m not fat anymore, I am the smaller size I am now. And then I decided to let go.

These cut off jeans/jorts are my favorite. They are ridiculously comfortable. Seven for All Mankind is my favorite brand in the world, and I was drooling over them when I bought them almost 6 years ago. They treated me well, and I them. But they just too big for me now, they are getting holes too big, and it’s time to move on.

It’s crazy to get attached to clothing I know, but I think when I was overweight clothes were my security blanket. I could put them on and not feel as big as a house. I could hide my tummy with flowy shirts and forget how much I didn’t like the way I looked. They allowed me to be in denial, but now they are different. Now they allow me to accentual the features I like, they allow me to show the progress I’ve made with hard work, and they make me feel good for being me! Those bags of clothes are my bandages, my security blankets, but now they will help someone else in need.

Are you good at getting rid of clutter and old clothes? Do you still feel like your old size even if you’ve lost weight?

