How has your weekend gone? Mine has been nice! We had friends over last night, and got to bed around 2….and woke up at noon lol! I actually love sleeping in, but surprisingly not as much as my siblings. Both my brother and sister as teenagers were known to get up between 2 or 3 in the afternoon. This sounds crazy I’m sure to some of you, but we all got the “night owl” gene from my dad. Unfortunately we didn’t get the “love of waking up in the morning” gene from my mom. Oooh well! I had some work to do since the power has been on and off frequently in the office, but I had been itching to bake since I had bananas that were juuust perfect. You know, the almost black ones. Ripe and ready to make Banana Bread!

My tried and true recipe is the one I googled as a newlywed 4 years ago from Simply Recipes. I was desperate to make something easy enough to bring to a get together, and fancy enough for the “oh you baked?!” reaction. This one popped up, and I’ve been using it ever since. Everyone loves, raves, craves it! It’s so versatile, I’ve made it probably 50 times (at least?) and changed it up like crazy! The one thing I stress- I always bake it for 45 minutes, not an hour! I’ve made it simple like the original, and jazzed it up. Today I had enough bananas to kill a….monkey? And I was ready to experiment! I counted the bananas, and I had exactly enough to make 5 batches! The Original, The Red Carpet Version (as I call it), and the Skinnier Banana Bread. Here’s how it went!

Batch #1: The Original has a special purpose. You remember my friend Carol right? The one I’ve been visiting with cancer? Well the really sad thing about her being sick, is that she can’t eat “real” food. She eats what she calls “white” food. White bread, bananas, white rice, white fish. Everything is mostly bland, and mostly white. She tried to eat strawberries and got a stomach ache 😦 It killed me to hear this because that would be awful, so I told her husband I would make her some banana bread. Hopefully it will raise her spirits a bit, and help her taste something a little less white, and a lot more yummy!

Thank you Kroger for always having reduced price bananas!

Mash up the nanners in a bowl

Add melted butta

Suga

Egg

Vanilla, Salt, and Baking Soda

Flour

Mix it all up!

Butter up your pan

Pour in mixture

Set the timer for 45 minutes

On to Batch #2: My Red Carpet Version (Doubled Recipe!)

I like to use one and a half cups regular AP flour, and one cup whole wheat

I also add half a cup of oatmeal

And mini chocolate chips 🙂

Pour into a 9 by 13 glass pan

Set timer for 45 minutes

On to Batch #3: Skinnier Banana Bread! (Doubled Recipe!)

This one is special because the bananas were not as ripe as the others, so when they were mashed, they stayed a tad bit chunky

I used half applesauce and no sugar

When my baking soda, salt, and vanilla went in, I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

I added dried cranberries, and crushed walnuts

I’m sure you can customize this anyway you want: dried cherries, almonds, more chocolate chips 🙂

Into the oven they went!

At this point I realized, I have a lot of baking dishes. More than I ever thought! 😉

At the end of 45 minutes (Batch #3 took 35 minutes!)

This is what happened!

Batch #1: The Original

Batch #2: The Red Carpet Version

Batch #3: Skinnier Banana Bread

So…how did they taste???!!!

I’ll leave Carol to tell me how Batch #1: The Original tastes, I wrapped hers up and I’ll give it to her husband tomorrow at church. I’ve had it before, believe it’s good! Batch #2: The Red Carpet Version, was everything I love about this bread. Simple, moist, delicious! And Batch #3: Skinnier Banana Bread- the one I was most curious about. It was so delicious! Way more moist than I thought! And even with no sugar added, it was sweet from the dried cranberries and slightly intact chunks of banana. And I’m happy to say the cinnamon shined through beautifully! I couldn’t be more thrilled.

Even with company- Approved!

So, whatcha doing tomorrow? This weekend? Now? Make these! I promise, customize it how you want and it will be delicious!

Oh, added bonus- it freezes well! Even better!

Oh! Don’t forget, banana bread if for anytime!

Oh! And your house will smell amazing!

You catching my drift? 🙂

Recipe for Batch #2: The Red Carpet Version

8 super ripe bananas

2/3 cup melted butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 pinches of salt

1 1/2 cups white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Mash bananas, add melted butter

Add everything else in, in order and mix

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes (or until toothpick is clean when inserted)

Recipe for Batch #3: Skinnier Banana Bread

3 ripe bananas

1/3 cup melted butter, 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 pinches of salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup oatmeal

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup crushed walnuts

Directions:

Mash bananas, add melted butter

Add everything else in, in order and mix

Bake at 350 for 35 minutes (or until toothpick is clean when inserted)

ENJOY!

With lots of love, {She-Hulk}

