The craziest thing happened at Costco today! My company needed a new membership so I headed down there to find out some information. The line was super long since they just opened, so I waited. And waited. And then waited some more. It was a very hot and humid day, we were all kind of annoyed by waiting outside. But there was a nice employee walking around helping each person in line, so I thought, “Oh well, he’ll get to me soon and I can be on my way.” Well he didn’t, and must have gone to lunch or something because I was still in line, waiting. I was standing there, minding my own business. Then- BOOM! A huge bolt of lightning hit in the Costco parking lot! But that wasn’t the craziest part.

About 10 minutes go by and the rain came. Like buckets, cats and dogs, massive amounts of water was pouring down. The wind started to pick up and the rain came blowing in the open doors of the walkway. Carts were rolling all over the parking lot, papers were flying everywhere, and then massive amounts of water splashed in on us. They were desperately trying to get the giant doors closed, only to have more water coming in like a river. When the doors finally touched down, they were trying to access the situation. One girl lost both shoes, the power went out, and all of us were drenched. Through all of it, all I could do was laugh! It was so awesome! The chaos around me was fierce, but I just stayed calm and smiled. It all ended, I got through the line and went on my way. I may not remember this moment a year from now, but I know it was nice to have no anxiety in all that craziness.

I rewarded myself with my most favorite dessert of right now. Right now, meaning within the last 6 months. I have cravings that come and go, but this one keeps staying. It is so good! I used the recipe for cheesecake stuffed strawberries from here at The Sweets Life, but took it one step further and dipped them in chocolate. Here’s how it went:

I started with strawberries

Fun fact: I used to hate them. Yep, I know. My olfactory glands changed and now berries are like heaven to me now.

This is how I set up my system

One melon baller (the one I have is small with sharp edges, but you could use a knife too)

One of the strawberries

One pairing knife

One small bowl for the scooped insides

Cut the top off your strawberry

Scoop out some of the insides

Not too much since you want the outside to stay intact

Scoop the insides into the bowl, I stick them in the freezer for smoothies and such

Alright, all the strawberries are scooped out

Time to mix up the filling

Remember to soften the cream cheese because it’s a pain in the rear otherwise

I’m positive this would be amazing spread on graham crackers, or my finger…

But it has another purpose today!

Get your graham crackers all crushed

I put the mixture in a baggie and cut one of the ends off

You could also use a piping bag, but I don’t have one of those.

How pretty already!

Dip!

Try not to eat right then and there!

Now this is where the original recipe ends, and mine adds a lil somethin somethin

I got a double boiler going with some mini chocolate chips

Which is a heat safe bowl, placed over simmering water

Make sure the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water, because the chocolate will burn

Slowly but surely, the chocolate will melt

And it will be silky smooth in no time

Now take a strawberry, and dip it in the chocolate

Make sure you get it all covered

Oh my gosh, so good!!!

PS, don’t get caught licking the spatula

Your husband might want to wrestle you for it 🙂

These are incredibly easy to make, and strawberries are cheap since it’s Summertime- try it won’t you?!

Anything crazy happen to you today?

