Hey Guys. Ever been to TGI Fridays? We never really did until we moved to Michigan. There’s not a whole lot around here to eat that I like, so we usually just go wherever our friends like. Friday’s has a good mix of hearty foods like ribs and burgers, but my bff and I love to get the Cajun Shrimp and Chicken Pasta. Normally it has shrimp and chicken, but we always swap with each other, so she gets my chicken and I get her shrimp….along with all her peppers 🙂

This pasta is legit, trust me. But it is not, I repeat not figure friendly

Oh suuuure, those peppers and onions are healthy.

But cover them up in massive amounts of cream and cheese? Delicious, but not healthy!

Soooo…I’m always on the prowl to create new recipes that are there to satisfy my cravings, but also a bit healthier!

If you google this recipe, you’ll find allll kinds of amazing looking pastas. I’m more about creamy noodles than Cajun flavor, so this is my recipe. Take it or leave it!

Shrimp and Red Pepper Pasta

1 medium onion

1 pepper- I only use red, but do what you want

6 oz. sliced mushrooms

Crushed red pepper flakes

Spinach- however much you like!

1 tablespoon butter

1/3- 1/2 cup light whipping cream (I get a small carton and use half)

1/4 cup (or less) Parmesan cheese

1/2 jar pasta sauce- I use Ragu because it’s always on sale, and in my pantry

1/2-1b raw peeled and deviened shrimp

1 box of pasta (I use about 3/4 of the noodles and save the rest)

Start with your pasta

I used Barilla Tri-Color Rotini

Normally I use the whole grain variety but I had a coupon, plus it was on sale

On to the veggies!

Start with your onion and pepper

I like to slice my pepper into strips, but you can also chop it

And my onions too

All ready to go!

Heat a large skillet with some evoo and add in peppers and onions

Soften them up a bit

And add in sliced mushrooms and red pepper flake

I would say I use 1/2-1 teaspoon, I like spice so be careful k?

And as I always do, add spinach

Wilt it all together to your liking and set aside

The mixture might be watery, feel free to drain it

And always use caution when draining because you could drop half of it down the drain…but I wouldn’t know or anything…

In the meantime, your pasta should be boiling away

I like a chewier bite as opposed to al dente

I follow the directions and let the pasta sit in the water with the heat off for the time I’m finishing up the rest

In your skillet melt the butta! Most days I use Smart Balance

Add in cream, bring to slight boil, mix in cheese to melt, and pasta sauce

I love the luscious color

Don’t you love my spatula?- URS2SWEET 🙂

Bring mixture to a boil

Add in shrimp

I didn’t put in enough, I always guess wrong! Oh well…

After shrimp is cooked (seriously takes 2 minutes? Maybe?)

Add veggies back in and mix

Don’t you love the colors?

Now add that springy chewy colorful pasta!

Try not to devour before you get to the table

To describe: creamy, chewy, a little spicy, absolutely all the things I crave!

Enjoy 🙂

What’s your favorite pasta dish? Can you make it at home?

