Boy! I am beat today! I had a very stressful week last week, and then the makeover we did this weekend was a lot of work so I think it’s catching up to me!

I had to stop by my work today because someone had left their jacket and I wanted to make sure she got it. As I was walking to my car I noticed a gold key in the parking lot. I thought to myself, “Well whoever dropped this might want it back so I’ll give it to the landlord when I see him.” I put in the car and headed to the gym where I killed myself ran on the treadmill. I’m continuing to train because I’ve got that Warrior Dash in July and I am not about to be a wimp. As I was lifting weights I noticed an email from someone that works in my office and was inquiring about a missing key- BINGO!

Isn’t it funny how life works out sometimes? I never go into the office on a Tuesday, we’re closed so there’s no point! But since I did, I was happy to help my grateful coworker!

When I got home I was in such a great mood! I thought ooo grilled cheese coming right up- DOH! We don’t have any bread….hmm. So through some considerations, I created my Healthier Tuna Bacon Wrap!

Ingredients:

 

I used:

1 whole wheat tortilla

1 can of tuna (mixed with 3/4 tablespoon Smart Balance Mayo,

1 tablespoon relish, and a dash of ground red pepper. There was a little leftover to save.)

I didn’t end up not using the mustard because I forgot-bacon is salty!

3 Slices of Butterball Turkey Bacon

1 1/2- 2 tablespoons Wholly Guacamole (I love love love this stuff!)

Spinach (not pictured)

Sliced cheese (not pictured)

I mixed up my tuna (mayo + relish + ground red pepper)

You know, I know a lot of people are opposed to the ‘yo, but I grew up with it

And it goes in my tuna!

You could substitute Greek yogurt (bleck!) lol, sorry it makes my stomach hurt

I then took 3 slices of bacon and torn them in half

I placed them in a cool dry pan and turned on the heat to medium

I never buy regular bacon anymore, I think turkey tastes the same!

But that may just be me 😉

Anybody else love their bacon burnt to a crisp lightly charred?

After the bacon was cooked, I looked at the pan with sadness

thinking the perfect amount of grease (just a touch!) would be wasted!

Insert SPINACH!

The Hulkster said it perfectly: “Spinach is the health nut’s cheese.”

I totally agree- because I put it in ev.er.y.thing.

It wilted up in about 45 seconds with bacony goodness!

Time to assemble:

First our tortilla with the crispy bacon

BTW, I always used whole wheat tortillas

The whiter the tortilla, the sooner you’re….uh… see ya?

Next goes the tuna mixture

Then we’ve got some cheese and the sauteed spinach

In a perfect world it would actually be real cheese, but it’s what I had on hand

And a line of our guac

Looks pretty gross now huh? Well it waaaasn’t…

I assessed my wrap and decided to grab a napkin

It was delicious!

I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, but what I got was: crunchy, salty, spicy, gooey, mmmness! I was pleasantly surprised. Sometimes my favorite creations come to me at a moments notice, or when I figure out we ran out of bread 🙂

What do you put spinach in? Do you like hot lunches? Tried anything new with bacon in it? Fun fact: I didn’t fry bacon as a married woman until this year. Can you believe it? I don’t have an explanation. Shrug.

