Good Evening Bloggers!

Excited about Diablo 3? Yeah me neither, but the Hulkster is tickled green! 🙂

Speaking of green, we had salad for dinner last night and I thought I’d share it with you because it was really good.

Before I begin, let me tell you I am not a salad person. John Pinette has some pretty good arguments against it! I’m not as opposed but I see a lot of truth in what he’s saying. Well the salad I made was delicious and I’m pretty sure I could convince John myself with:

BBQ Chicken Salad (and then some!)

Ingredients:

Lettuce (I like Romaine, mixed greens, or spinach but whatever you have is just fine!)

Chicken Breasts (I used 2 so we had leftovers)

Blue Cheese

Craisins

Slivered Almonds

BBQ sauce

Dressing of your choice (I like Ranch)

Directions:

Bake chicken breasts in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes

Take chicken out and slather on BBQ sauce, as much as you like but don’t make it swim (know what I mean?)

Put chicken back in oven and cook for another 20 minutes until cooked through and juices run clear

You could also actually BBQ your chicken on a….BBQ, but I don’t have one and I didn’t feel like cleaning my George Foreman (hmm…am I lazy?!)

Take a bowl, throw in some chopped lettuce. Sprinkle the blue cheese, craisins, and almonds. I think a little goes a long way for all of these but use how much you like- this is your salad after all!

After the chicken has rested about 5 minutes, slice up and mix with a little more BBQ sauce (maybe 1 or 2 tablespoons) top chicken on salad

For dressing there are so many choices but my absolute obsession right now is Marzetti Simply Dressed Ranch! There was a BOGO sale at the store and I just had to have it. What I love is that the ingredients are simple (given the name) and it doesn’t taste chemically. You know what I’m sayin’?! And only 110 calories for 2 tablespoons! That’s good for Ranch! I can’t wait to try the Ranch Light soon!

We paired the salad with a grilled cheese and freshly steamed broccoli- I felt healthy after eating it. Well maybe not the grilled cheese but I alllllllways use Smart Balance instead of butter. I may just dedicate a whole post to SB…seriously….. seriously!

Hey, if you try my salad I promise it tastes good- Hulkster approved!

Do you like making salads? What about actually eating them? What do you like to pair with your salad?

