We have been so very busy the last month. I love being busy, it makes the time go by faster and I feel like I’m more productive when things are moving along. Taylor is starting his last year of grad school and we are both breathing a huge sigh of relief. We knew the time would pass quickly, we just didn’t know when quickly felt like quickly. Some of these months have dragged along, especially Summertime. When life is lazy and our brains turn to mush. It’s just one of those things! To give you a quick update, we visited one of our oldest friends a few weeks ago in Athens, Ohio. The city of Athens itself is a lot like where we live. A college town with a cute downtown area with great eats, cool bars, and cheap drinks! A drinker I am not, but I let myself have two. I was only going to drink one but a new friend didn’t like her “ahem” on the beach so I drank it. Never had that before and it was quite tasty! I should start with the beginning shouldn’t I?

The night before we left I had a feeling I should take the day off of work. I knew I needed to leave a bit earlier than usual but I decided I would just go in the morning and get through most of the day. Well…I woke up sick. Ironic isn’t it? I have a feeling it was half a meal I didn’t prepare and I was unsure about while eating it, and half I have no idea what the heck is wrong with me. It was like I had the flu turned way down so my symptoms were there but muted. Dunno, shrug. So I stayed home, which is just what I needed. Bella made me feel better too!

IMG_4257

 

By the time noon rolled around, I was feeling much better and we hit the road shortly after. The drive is only about 3-4 hours so we just sat and talked, and played BOMB. In case you’re wondering, BOMB is like horse in basketball however you come up with an actor or actress and the next person has to say what movie that actor or actress was in, then you say another actor or actress that played in that movie, then you say an actor or actress and so on. We couldn’t believe it but we played for two hours getting lost and then back on the road in Ohio. It’s the little things!

Our friend Tommy is the same friend that was the best man in our wedding and ran in the Warrior Dash with us last year. He’s a really cool guy and a good friend! He just bought a house so we were oooing and aahhing over all the details. A garage? Nice kitchen! Oh you have a walk in closet! How cool!I am so thankful to be an adult because guest bedrooms that have their own bathrooms are awesome. We were so tired from the drive that we decided to hang out and watch a movie; Mystery Men. I never saw it before and I’m sure I would have liked it when it came out but since that movie is kind of “old” now and cheesy, it wasn’t my favorite. I did enjoy watching the boys watch it though- very nostalgic for them. Then it was off to bed, I think I was asleep before my head hit the pillow!

The next day we had a delicious breakfast of chocolate Special K (oh, it was so good!) and took a tour of Tommy’s job and some of the downtown area. It’s such a beautiful place because it’s literally next to and in the University of Oho campus. I had no requests for the whole weekend other than going to Bagel Street Deli. I crave this place every once in a while and since I had it last over a year ago- it was time to go again!

IMG_4268

It’s such a cute little place, they have bricks on the wall that everyone writes their names on, I always get a blt because I’m not adventurous and I like what I like, what I like!

IMG_4274 IMG_4273

 

On top you’ll see Taylor’s Pfeiffer’s choice on asiago and below that is my blt. They are served piping hot in foil, best eaten with copious amounts of chips. We rolled ourselves out of there to look out and about for some jewelry for me. I didn’t find any but I was super impressed with how crazy weird some people were. Even more were the oddest shops, mostly vintage, and I wanted to buy everything. I tried on a super cute dress but I didn’t get it because 1. It was U of M colors (I would look like a student) and 2. It looked like a dress a student would wear. I was hesitant at first but as soon as I walked out and saw at least 5 students wearing similar dresses, I knew I was right. Along the way we stopped at Fluff- the cutest little bakery that lets you have your own China tea plate if you eat there.

IMG_4280 IMG_4281Up top is a butterfinger cupcake and Taylor had a red velvet cupcake. They were so good but I was still full from lunch so I took half home. We came back to the house for a bit to get ready for the night. Tommy has a bunch of really cool friends that we had been dying to meet so we got washed up and hit the town!

IMG_4289

On the patio of Jackie O’s, I had the melt my pesto sandwich and Taylor had a rueben. We both swore they were life changing sandwiches, I’ll have to recreate both soon! It was so nice to just sit outside and relax and talk without the stupid mosquitos eating us alive. They must be especially annoying in Michigan because we are magnets, and allergic to boot! The rest of the evening was filled with meeting new people, dancing, bar hopping, and what we call the Katie face. The Katie face is a face that a new friend named Katie makes in every picture. I love it and I wish I did it sooner because it makes pictures more fun and less awkward….by acting awkward.

IMG_4293

It starts like this; hey we’re all cool

IMG_4295And then you do the Katie face; it’s awesome!

IMG_6505

This is the dance we’ve done since high school, brings back memories!

IMG_6039

I have no idea, haha

It was so much fun! I love going out with friends and meeting new people so this is just what I needed. What made it better was Tommy’s friends were so nice to us and welcoming, I really felt comfortable enough to be myself. Plus, how much fun is dancing amIright?!

We ended up going to bed sometime after 2am. We had hot dogs around midnight and saw a girl passed out drunk on her deck, which was only entertaining because we saw the police waking her up. The next morning we knew we were heading to the diner for breakfast. Tommy’s Egg’s Benedict, Taylor’s Huevos Ranchero’s scramble, and my pancakes. I think all of these were clearly larger than my face. I vowed to never eat again.

IMG_4300 IMG_4301 IMG_4302

IMG_4297

Ok here come’s the Katie face…

IMG_4299

It’s our new favorite thing!

We played our traditional games of Smash Brothers and Mario Party, and then it was time to go. I couldn’t believe how quickly it went by! We had a blast and can’t wait to come back again. There’s a bunch of comedians doing shows so we might check one out soon, we’ll see. Thanks for being an awesome host Tommy- miss you already!

In the meantime, this is just one stop in the craziness that’s been happening in our lives. What’s up in your world? :)

 

 

